The widows mill

The Widow’s Mill (1924)

Genre: Zarzuela in two acts.
Text: Manuel Fernández de la Puente.
Music: Francisco Alonso.
Premiere: November 4, 1924, at Teatro Novedades, Madrid.
Performers of the premier: María Lacalle, Ms. Galindo, Ms. Santoncha, Ms. Romero, Vicente Aparici, Mr. Gómez Bur, Mr. Carrasco, Mr. Monjardíin, Mr. Llobregat.

Set in a village in Aragon, at the time of the premiere, The Mill of the Widow begins as a melodrama, but gives way to a singularly comical situation, for which the maestro Alonso composed a copious score.
They were very applauded a “comic quintet”, a “terceto”, also comic, and a “jota” were to receive the most enthusiastic applause. The press also enthused over “expertise of the very popular musician of Granada”.